Enjoying Life

You Don’t Have to Feel Guilty for Enjoying Life

Hey, everyone! I’m so so so sorry for my {extremely} long absence. Spring Break is in a couple of weeks, and I have intentionally carved out the whole week to *finally* catch up and write at least two? posts. But… I wanted to tell you about a new blog I just discovered. Maybe you know it? It’s called Project Inspired. I love stumbling across blogs that encourage me, inspire me, and teach me (like many of my fellow blogger/readers’ blogs 🙂 ), and Project Inspired definitely fits that criteria.

Recently, I’ve started self-teaching myself French. I love it, or should I say J’ aime ça? Anyway, it’s something that I really enjoy. Yet, I still feel like I can’t really enjoy it. ‘Shouldn’t I be more focused on my actual language class at school? Shouldn’t I be more focused on cleaning my room? I have better things to do than just mess around!’ 

And that’s just one instance. I find myself telling myself multiple times a day that I can’t do this, or I can’t do that because I have better, more productive things to do. The guilt overcomes me and I force myself to stop doing the things I enjoy. Do we have to feel guilty for enjoying things in life? Should we always work and never enjoy?

No! Of course not! Do the things you love! (But, don’t neglect the necessities!)

Here’s an awesome blog post I found on the exact topic from Project Inspired. I hope that it will inspire you to live a live that honors God, and fills you with joy. 


You Don’t Have to Feel Guilty for Enjoying Life

It hit me on a vacation to the Outer Banks of North Carolina. I was standing by the ocean, the waves lapping my toes, as the sun rose quietly on the horizon. Dolphins appeared at just that moment, and I couldn’t imagine a more beautiful place to be.

But in a second, a wave of guilt came over me. I’m here enjoying this beach with my husband when I should be working, I thought. How can I enjoy this when other people don’t get to?

The joy of the moment disappeared in a flash and I became anxious to leave the beach and do something. Perhaps this is mostly a Type-A struggle, but I venture to guess most of us have felt guilty for enjoying life. We let this guilt destroy our joy and cease to see our days as a succession of God’s blessings. In reality, God wants us to enjoy this life—but not in a selfish way.

Enjoy Your Work

There is nothing better for a person than that he should eat and drink and find enjoyment in his toil. This also, I saw, is from the hand of God. (Ecclesiastes 2:24)

The book of Ecclesiastes, written by King Solomon, provides a fascinating look at one man’s view of the world from the end of his life. One of the things he states repeatedly is to “enjoy your toil.” You might think “toil” sounds like the opposite of something we should enjoy! To the contrary, work was created along with Adam and Eve—before sin ever entered the world. God Himself worked six days to create the world. All creative beauty requires toil of some kind.

By enjoying our work, we reflect God’s creative intelligence—a divine characteristic that we’ve received as image-bearers of Christ. That’s powerful! Every time you work well with joy, you’re speaking over your work the same words God said at the beginning: “It is good.”

Enjoy Your World

Behold, what I have seen to be good and fitting is to eat and drink and find enjoyment in all the toil with which one toils under the sun the few days of his life that God has given him, for this is his lot. (Ecclesiastes 5:18)

We spend so much time on our phones and so little looking at our world. But when we really look at nature, our communities and the people we know, we can’t help but be astounded by the detail of it all.

God longs for you to recognize and enjoy the beauty of His creation. But like me on the beach, many people hurry off to an urgent task or feel guilty for enjoying God’s creation when others cannot.

By enjoying your world, you are actually able to show more compassion to those who are unable to appreciate it—those who are disabled, impoverished or too wounded to see what is good. By immersing yourself in the joy that is your life, you can bring that joy to others.

Be Grateful and Generous

As for the rich in this present age, charge them not to be haughty, nor to set their hopes on the uncertainty of riches, but on God, who richly provides us with everything to enjoy. (1 Timothy 6:17)

Enjoying life doesn’t mean hoarding material goods or selfishly using our time to please ourselves. When God blesses us with the opportunity to see, taste and experience our world, we’re left with a big responsibility. We are called to be generous and ready to share with others.

It’s easier to be generous when you recognize that nothing we’re given is really our own. Gratitude teaches us that God is the author of every good gift. When we share with others, we’re only sharing what is already God’s.

Guilt is a terrible burden to carry through life. Instead, walk in the freedom of true joy: a joy that sees God’s hand in everything and thanks Him for it.


Until next time! (which should be in a few weeks)

God’s Blessings during this new week!

♥♥♥

d06fc-proxy-url253dhttp25253a25252f25252fwww-tattoogen-com25252ftattoo25252fmardiandemo25252f48-3833333333333325252f00000025252flaura-jpg2526container253dblogger2526gadget253da2526rewrit

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

