Worry

Consider the Lilies

Tomorrow school starts again after a break four days short of three weeks. It’s been such a long time since I had to study and wake up super early and spend hours doing homework. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t anxious about it starting back up again.

“What if I can’t make A’s?”

“What if it’s too hard? What if I don’t understand it or I get too overwhelmed? “

“What if…. what if?”

My heart races and my stomach is in knots. If I ever get settled down, somehow my mind convinces me that if I don’t worry, everything will go terribly wrong. The clock ticks down, tick tock, tick tock, counting down the seconds, minutes, hours, until I must once again return to the place that’s held me down for five months, for yet another five months. My heart falls into the tangles of my stomach.

But, a little, quiet voice inside urges me to ‘Consider the Lilies’.

22Then, turning to his disciples, Jesus said, “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food to eat or enough clothes to wear. 23For life is more than food, and your body more than clothing.24Look at the ravens. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for God feeds them. And you are far more valuable to him than any birds! 25Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? 26And if worry can’t accomplish a little thing like that, what’s the use of worrying over bigger things?

27“Look at the lilies and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. 28And if God cares so wonderfully for flowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

29“And don’t be concerned about what to eat and what to drink. Don’t worry about such things. 30These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers all over the world, but your Father already knows your needs. 31Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and he will give you everything you need.

32“So don’t be afraid, little flock. For it gives your Father great happiness to give you the Kingdom.”

Luke 12:22-32

“So don’t be afraid, little flock”. We are His flock, and and He is our shepherd. We don’t need to worry about anything because we have a shepherd who is guiding us. We don’t need to worry because we have a God who supplies food for all of the birds on the planet. We don’t need to worry because He grows every flower, especially those that grow in cold, desolate places. If He can grow a flower in cold, desolate places, or sustain animals in every condition, or make the sun go around, we don’t need to have a care in the world.

I once watched a science film about a frog that can freeze itself to protect itself from the winter to come. “The tiny amphibians can survive for weeks with an incredible two-thirds of their body water completely frozen — to the point where they are essentially solid frogsicles.” If He sustains frogs in the winter, He can sustain you.

Consider the lilies. Remember the lilies. Worry does not need to overcome neither you nor me. God put you here, he created you. You can trust Him. Our worry is not going to help us in any way. It is harmful and shows a lack of faith. But, if you depend on Him, He will supply your needs. He is not deaf to your fear or worries. Cast your cares on Him (“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7) and cast away your worries. Live for today. Tomorrow will come soon, but today is fast fading (“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34).

Consider the lilies. Let these words sink into every part of you. Let them become a part of you. Consider the lilies when worry attempts to sink in to you and overcome you. Do not let it have the upper hand. Consider the lilies, little flock. Your shepherd knows your needs and knows the fears of your heart. Trust that He does.

Consider the Lilies.

d06fc-proxy-url253dhttp25253a25252f25252fwww-tattoogen-com25252ftattoo25252fmardiandemo25252f48-3833333333333325252f00000025252flaura-jpg2526container253dblogger2526gadget253da2526rewrit

P.S. You may remember me mentioning that I like listening to the Abide prayer app? Here is one of my favorite prayers, and one that is perfect for today’s post. Take a listen here or download the free Abide Prayer App. I totally recommend it.

 

2 thoughts on “Consider the Lilies

Leave a Reply

