Holidays · Improving Yourself

10 Ways to Change in the New Year

Many people make New Year’s resolutions. And many of those same people never keep the resolutions that they make. I know people make resolutions regarding weight loss, diets, work, and habits, and every year around January 30th, those resolutions are shoved in a box, which won’t be drug out again until the next January 1st.

I think that many of these resolutions fail because they focus on the wrong thing… they’re focused on me, me, me. Maybe in order to actually complete a resolution, it needs to be more meaningful. This is not to say that a healthy resolution is wrong or won’t work out, I’m just saying that maybe a more meaningful resolution is easier to stick to. 🙂

This year, I want to focus more on God and His truths and acting as a servant to those around us. I’m hoping that you too want to live out a godly life and make some changes that will promote that. So, to help you get thinking, I want to provide a list of things to work on in the New Year that will help you work on being more outwardly focused. 🙂

 

1. I will praise God everyday and I won’t complain. 

Try to focus on God’s Work when things are good, and when they’re not so good. Praise Him through it all, and in all circumstances. Control you thoughts and words… don’t complain about life, rather praise God!

2. I will be grateful. 

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you”. 1 Thessalonians 5:18

Be grateful for every blessing within your life, and the not-so-seemingly-blessings, because your greatest challenges could turn into your best blessing. 🙂 Speak words of gratitude and thankfulness EVERYDAY.

3. I will allow God to challenge me and allow me to grow. 

And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast” 1 Peter 5:10

Like I said before, give thanks for your challenges, because they could be the situations that provide you with growth. Don’t run when things get difficult, but welcome them with open arms.

4. I will be more concerned about my relationship with God rather than my happiness. 

Growth in Him isn’t easy and you won’t always be happy or want to read the Bible or pray or go to church, but this year, focus more on this relationship rather than what will make you happy. Sacrifice yourself to Him, because Jesus sacrificed himself for you. This relationship will truly make you happy.

5. I will go to church more and acknowledge the Sabbath. 

“Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching” Hebrews 10:25

The Sabbath is a day of rest… treat is as such. Go to church, or find a church that will allow you to learn more about God and His truths. And, if you can get involved in any way, do so.

6. I won’t use stuff to make me happy. 

Do you depend on your phone for happiness? Clothes? Jewels? If so, you never truly will be happy. Focus less on your stuff and more on God. He and only He can satisfy all of your needs.

 

7. I will focus more on Jesus and less on myself this year. 

“He must become greater; I must become less” John 3:30

Your life is not about you… it’s about serving Him and serving others. Use your life to revolve around Him, and support others.

8. I will focus less on my appearance and more on God. 

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well” Psalm 139:14

You are beautifully unique. You need not spend time worrying about your outer beauty. You were created in His image… how much more beautiful can you get? 🙂 My dad always says that it is truly amazing that we can all be built the same… a nose, ears, arms, etc., yet look so different. I love that. We all look beautifully different. Now that we’ve got that down, focus on Him! Focus on you inner beauty!
9. I won’t care about other’s opinion of me. 

The only opinion that matters is Gods. My mom reminds me of this daily. Embrace the fact that the only person that matters in our life, the only opinion that is key to our eternity, is God. Don’t let anyone else get in the way. Don’t allow the opinions of others to become an idol to you. In the long run, only God matters anyway.

10. I will Study my Bible/ Pray/ do Devotions.

Just dive in, read, learn, grow. A relationship with God is not easy, yet it is totally worth it. Focus on this relationship this year and do anything and everything you can to grow and nurture it.  (By the way, if you need some tips on how to study your Bible, I have a post planned on the very topic in the new year! 🙂 )

No matter what you resolution is or if you choose not to have one at all, I pray that this year you will continue to allow God in your life. Allow growth. Allow His love. Let this be a great year by spending it with Him, through thick and thin.

Have a lovely New Year. Here are some Bible verses to get you prepared and started out right. 🙂

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!”                                                                         2 Corinthians 5:17

“Throw off your old sinful nature and your former way of life, which is corrupted by lust and deception. Instead, let the Spirit renew your thoughts and attitudes. Put on your new nature, created to be like God– truly righteous and holy.”                    Ephesians 4:22-24

“And the one sitting on the throne said, “Look, I am making everything new!” And then He said to me, “Write this down, for what I tell you is trustworthy and true!”   Revelation 21:5

 

Happy New Year! May God richly bless you and keep you, make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you, may He life his countenance upon you and give you Peace.

cd424-proxy-url253dhttp25253a25252f25252fwww-tattoogen-com25252ftattoo25252fmardiandemo25252f48-3833333333333325252f00000025252flaura-jpg2526container253dblogger2526gadget253da2526rewrit

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “10 Ways to Change in the New Year

Leave a Reply

