Holidays

My New Year Goals

Is it just me or does it seem like everyone really wants this year to be over even more so than usual? I mean, everyone that I’ve talked to outside of my family cannot wait for 2016 to be over. I know that it’s been a difficult year, with the election, terrorist attacks, shootings, Aleppo, ISIS, etc, but even if everyday wasn’t good, there was good in everyday.

Truth be told, I’ve had a fantastic 2016 and I’m a bit sad to see it go. (And does it bother anyone else when the year isn’t an even number? Just me? ) A lot of great things happened to me this year. And while it wasn’t always perfect, I’m not a bit ashamed to say that I enjoyed this year. It has been a year of growth for me personally. It’s challenged me in ways that I didn’t want to be challenged and I’ve really grown closer to God this year and completed my one main goal (finish the entire Bible- yay!) .

Last year on January 1st, I set out on my resolution/pilgrimage (since I refused to call it a resolution since those don’t usually last that long… 🙂 ) (By the way, if you want to read that full post, click here.)

I stated that I wanted to grow in faith.

So, did I?

Well, it’s hard to say. Am I as close to Him as I want to be? Not really. Have I grown closer? Undoubtedly. I even stated on January 1st that I wasn’t sure that I’d ever grow as close to God as I wanted to, yet I’m a tiny bit disappointed.

 

I didn’t give up or anything like that, but I’m not where I wanted to be. Where that is, I’m not quite sure. But, for now I’ve decided that I want my goal for 2017 to be the same as this year. I don’t feel that I have completed it nor can it be completed within a year, or even two years.
But… I want to set more general goals that I can actually check off a checklist, so to speak. So, my goals for 2017:
1. Grow in faith (whatever that may mean for me this year).
2. Read the entire New Testament in depth (not skimming!).
3. Go deeper in my Bible study methods (I have a post planned for Bible study methods, so stay tuned!) to understand more- for me, I am going to Bible journal.
4. Have a servant’s heart and focus on others before myself. (I’m challenging myself to do at least three acts of kindness for others per day).
5. Work on my prayer life.
So, those are the five things that I want to work on this year. I am excited to get started. 🙂
Tomorrow, I’ll have a post up of ways to make some godly changes in the new year. (Sorry the posts got so smooshed together!)
d06fc-proxy-url253dhttp25253a25252f25252fwww-tattoogen-com25252ftattoo25252fmardiandemo25252f48-3833333333333325252f00000025252flaura-jpg2526container253dblogger2526gadget253da2526rewrit
Do you have any goals for the new year? What are they?

 

Leave a Reply

