30 Days of Thankfulness

Day 13: 30 Days of Thankfulness

Today I am thankful for my devotional time. It’s one of my favorite times of the day. Right now I’m reading a Joyce Meyer’s yearly devotional, a Verse of the Day, and Sadie Robertson’s Live Original devotional, which I am going to share with you today.

Most of the time I am a very structured and organized person, but when it comes to devotionals I skim the entire book until I find one that really speaks to me and read that one. And that’s exactly what I did today.

Keep the First Things First

“Priorities. We hear adults talk about keeping our priorities straight all the time. It’s usually in the reference to a bad grade or when our rooms are a total mess. But what does that word really mean?

I think priorities are the things that are most valuable or most important to us. And, I have to tell you, often what American teens show the world we hold valuable is pretty messed up. Just a quick look through Instagram and you see that our priorities are often the beach, double and triple ear piercings, our BFFs, cool selfies, and, of course, fashion. 

There’s this C.S. Lewis quote that really makes me think. It’s from a letter written in 1951 to Dom Bede Griffiths, a monk living in South India. C.S. Lewis said, “Put first things first and we get second things thrown in: put second things first and we lose both first and second things. We never get, say, even the sensual pleasure of food at its best when we are being greedy.” I know, it’s a lot to think about. Both C.S. Lewis and Dom Griffiths were deep thinkers- way out of my league! But what he was saying is simply this: You can’t get “second” things by putting them first. Put important things first, and second things will come. That sounds like a good “Keep the First Things First” principal to help prioritize the important things in your life. “

Sadie Robertson, Live Original, 2016, Howard Books (Pages 125-128)

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.”

 Colossians 3: 1-2

I really needed this today. Lately, I’ve been really upset about my grades. I lay up at night worrying that I won’t be able to keep my grades up high, especially my Trig-PreCalc grade. I randomly wake up out of nowhere, worrying that my grade will stoop down to a B or I answered a question wrong on that test I took. I realized that grades should not be my first priority. God is my first priority above all things. Today definitely made me realign what was actually important and what isn’t. I hope that this devotion gave you a sense of what’s important as well. 🙂

Names of Our God

laurels+flowers_0007_Vector Smart Object

2 thoughts on “Day 13: 30 Days of Thankfulness

Leave a Reply

