30 Days of Thankfulness

Day 7: 30 Days of Thankfulness

Tomorrow is World Heritage Day at school, where we’re all supposed to dress up in traditional clothing from another country. From what I’ve been told, I come from German heritage on both sides. Unfortunately, I don’t have a dirndl or any other traditional piece of heritage clothing, so I guess I’ll just have to sit this one out. 🙂 

This day got me thinking though, about a lot of different things. First of all, I am thankful that for many, many generations, my family has been raised up with a faith in God. Not only am I thankful for my for my family’s own faith, but I am thankful that over the years there’s always been spiritual leaders, guiding us through God’s Word. 

I mean, just think about it.

In Germany way back in the 14th century, Martin Luther taught people about what it meant to be a Christian in God’s eyes, with these teachings coming straight from the Bible. 

In Italy, there was Catherine of Siena, spewing wisdom about being on fire for God. 

In a 20th century India, Mother Teresa gave her God-given gift of love to everyone she encountered. 

C.S. Lewis of the United Kingdom, reminded people through his written word that without God, we could not (and cannot) find lasting happiness. 

And Billy Graham of the United States spread the Word of God to millions and millions of people through his crusades. 

All of these people, from all over the world, coming from all different types of heritages and time periods, spread the Word of God, all in their own way, but all had the same goal: living for God and helping others to do the same. 

I am so thankful for all of these people, and the countless others that have spread the Word of God in the past, do so now in the present, and those who will in the future. It is so amazing to know that throughout history, throughout our families, we’ve been raised or heard of people living for God. 

d06fc-proxy-url253dhttp25253a25252f25252fwww-tattoogen-com25252ftattoo25252fmardiandemo25252f48-3833333333333325252f00000025252flaura-jpg2526container253dblogger2526gadget253da2526rewrit

laurels+flowers_0007_Vector Smart Object

 

 

Leave a Reply

