Monday Miracles

Joelle

She had dark and snapping-quick eyes. Her equally dark and truncated tresses were tightly pulled back into a bun sitting low on the back of her head. She was rather short and petite. Her white name tag hung upon her dark gray uniform, reading ‘Joelle’ in dark, capital letters. The font of the letters seemed too bold for this doe-like girl that stood before me.

She washed the mirror in the girl’s bathroom of a Chick-Fil-A restaurant, where my family stopped to grab a bite to eat. I quietly crept into the bathroom when I saw another human, Joelle, and waited outside the bathroom stall door for my sister to exit. I tried not to stare, but I continued to find myself glancing up at her.

Her face looked as if she had run a thousand marathons, but her eyes were so bright. I loved her name. Forever I will love that name. Suddenly, as Joelle finished washing the mirror she stuck her hands beneath the faucet. Water splashed droplets all over the floor. “That’s how my whole day has gone.” Joelle sighed.

My heart dropped for the dear. “Aw, I’m sorry!” I replied.  She giggled for a moment as she glanced at the floor, and I laughed with her. I couldn’t help but think that Joelle and I could’ve been friends, had I lived in her town. She seemed very genuine. A restaurant worker has never left such an impact on me as Joelle did. We barely spoke and she doesn’t ever know my name, but forever I will remember Joelle.

She sighed as she tried to position her tired hair into a fashionable knot. She undecidedly brushed a few strands of hair behind her ear, only for her to place it back in front. “Oh, nobody cares anyway.”she muttered. She soaked her hands again quickly and she was out the door before I could think of something to reply to her. That was that.

Now, I can’t help but beat myself over the fact that I didn’t say anything. I still have some things to say to you, Joelle, that I didn’t say before.  I’m sorry that I didn’t say them yesterday.

Thank you so much for all of the tireless work you do for this restaurant, Joelle. I know that it can’t be easy to say that it’s your pleasure to serve me and others, especially when you’ve had a long day and nothing is going your way.

Thank you for caring, even if it’s what you get paid to do.

Thank you for making me feel as if I could be your friend. Not a whole lot of people have ever made me feel that way before, even if it was for a few moments.

Thank you for making me laugh as we looked around at the water that had so elegantly splashed onto the tiles.

Thank you for cleaning the mirrors so that so many other girls could see themselves clearer after the day that they had.

Thank you for the many things that you do right each day that no one acknowledges.

You are wrong, though, Joelle, about one thing. Somebody does care. I care.

I thought that you looked lovely, even more so when I knew just how hard you had worked yesterday and everyday, I’m sure.

Your hair was prettier than a picture, even if you couldn’t get it to lay the way you wanted it to.

You really made an impact on me, Joelle.

You made me realize that we all need a little encouragement sometimes, encouragement that I failed to give you yesterday when you were struggling.

I’m sorry.

From now on though, I will strive to cheer for others during all of their endeavors. Thank you for helping me to realize this.

Thank you for doing the job God has called you to do right now, to the best of your ability. Thank you, Joelle. Thank you. You truly are a miracle.

Joelle was a miracle that I witnessed this week. I thank God for bringing her into my life for mere minutes. Those minutes are dear to me because I realize that we need to help each other out more. We need to be more encouraging with each other. The world tears us all down. It doesn’t matter what we look like, what our job is, or how much money we have, each of us struggles. Each of us have thought at one point or another that no one even cares about us.

We need to stop this. We need to bring encouragement to anyone and everyone. God placed us here to give love and care for one another. We need to give encouragement to everyone, even when it seems that they might not need it. Trust me, encouragement is not something that people often reject. Without encouragement, hardships become meaningless.

The Bible is filled to the brim with verses about encouraging each other. God wants us to bear each others burdens. He wants us to build each other up, not tear each other down! Here are some of my favorite verses that say just that!

“Therefore, encourage one another and build one another up.” 1 Thessalonians 5:11
” Above all, keep loving one another earnestly,  since love covers a multitude of sins. Show hospitality to one another without grumbling. As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s earned grace.” 1 Peter 4:8-10
“Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs him down,  but a good word makes him glad.” Proverbs 12:25
“But encourage one another daily as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.” Hebrews 3:13

Have an awesome week, guys. I know that it can be difficult to want to get moving again on a Monday, but you’ll do great! God’s got this, and with Him you’ve got this too. 🙂 I’ll be praying for you all.

♥ ♥ ♥

d06fc-proxy-url253dhttp25253a25252f25252fwww-tattoogen-com25252ftattoo25252fmardiandemo25252f48-3833333333333325252f00000025252flaura-jpg2526container253dblogger2526gadget253da2526rewrit

 

Leave a Reply

