Comparison

Stopping the Comparison Cycle

Welcome!! This is Part 5 of my blogging series, “The Comparison Series!” If you happened to miss Part 1 click here, if you missed Part 2 click here, if you missed Part 3, click here, and if you missed my most recent addition, Part 4, click here. 🙂 Now, let’s get started.

Comparing has never left me satisfied. It has turned me into my own idol, it’s made me more self-focused, and it’s made me downright unhappy.

Yet, we still continue to compare again and again. (I discussed why here) It seems that we’re stuck in a never-ending cycle of comparison. So how do we stop it?

Before I tell you how, I must admit that this will not miraculously change you overnight. It’s something that you have to work at and pray about. I still do struggle sometimes with comparisons myself. It will be a struggle, but it will be rewarding. 🙂

So, here are some ways to stop comparing yourself to others.

  1. You are uniquely God’s. 

    God has a specific plan for you and I. He made you to be you, and me to be me. Know that. Recognize that. When you treat yourself as a child of God, you will appreciate your own God-given qualities. Constantly remind yourself of this: You are His, and that’s enough.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    “But now thus says the Lord, he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine.” Isaiah 43:1

  2. Do the Very Best Work that You Can.

    Galatians 6:4 says, “Let everyone be sure to do his very best, for then he will have the personal satisfaction of work done well and won’t need to compare himself with someone else.” Do the very best work that you can, in everything that you do so that you don’t feel the need to compare yourself to others. Instead, being your own very best will be more important than Jenny’s or Caleb’s best.

  3. Stop Thinking and Talking Negatively About Yourself.

    Stop saying to yourself, “I can’t do anything right!”. When you think or talk badly about yourself, you are going to want to search for someone who is more successful than you. Then, you’ll start to compare your successes with theirs. Encourage yourself instead, and you’ll be less worried about how you measure up.

  4. Focus on What Could Be, Instead of How It Is. 

    Think,”I don’t like how I’m doing right now, but if I strive to improve myself, I will become better.” There’s always room for improvement. Don’t let yourself think that you are stuck where you are now. Instead of focusing on how others have their lives put together, focus on how you can improve your own life.

  5. Imitate Christ, not Others.

    Don’t strive to be like other people and their successes. Instead, strive to be like Christ, as it says in 1 Corinthians 11:1,“Be imitators of me, as I am of Christ.”

  6. Pray, pray, pray.

    Pray continually, without ceasing. Pray that God will remove your desire to be like others, and to be more like Jesus instead. Never stop praying. “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” Matthew 7:7

Focus on God, not yourself. Comparing yourself to others stems completely from making yourself your own idol. Don’t be an idol- be an imitator of Jesus. Inspire your friends, your family, anyone, to do the same.

I pray that after reading this blog series, you have been inspired to stop making yourself miserable, and focus less on comparing. I pray that you will succeed and be able to stop comparing altogether.

I pray that you have enjoyed reading this series, as this is the last post! I hope to start up another blogging series in the future, but until then, I hope that you will work on and continue to work on growing in Him!

Best wishes for the rest of the week!

d06fc-proxy-url253dhttp25253a25252f25252fwww-tattoogen-com25252ftattoo25252fmardiandemo25252f48-3833333333333325252f00000025252flaura-jpg2526container253dblogger2526gadget253da2526rewrit


 

Leave a Reply

