Seeking God

The Best Part of My Worst Day

Yesterday was one of the worst days of my life-no joke. There were tears, yelling, spiders, dirt and dust, boxes, and trash bags, and the piles of these things were taller than my 5’6″ frame (well, maybe not the spiders, but I digress).

It was absolutely miserable and even when my head hit the pillow at the end of the day, my dreams were still consumed by the reality that had occurred moments prior.

Ugh. Spiders.

If you haven’t guessed yet, we were cleaning our garage, all within the painful span of nine hours. My feet killed me. By the end of the day, my family and I couldn’t even walk.

I’ve probably had worse days, but honestly none come to mind.

Even after that horror, there was still one part of my day that wasn’t totally terrible.

Before my head hit my wonderfully soft and incredible pillow (something I realized I take for granted), I picked up my devotion and read. My eyes could barely stay open anymore, but I was determined to spend time with God. I picked up my Bible, excited to remember that I had made it to Ezekial. In those few moments, I felt serene and content.

‘Ah. Now this, this is the best part of my day.’ I thought to myself.

Even on our worst days, having spent time with God gives a good ending to a bad day.

Whenever I pick up my Bible and just read I immediately feel better… no worries, no anger, no sadness. Nothing. Except for peace, joy, and love.

Now, imagine if I gave the excuse that I was way too tired to read my Bible. Then July 22nd, 2016 would go down in my books as a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. Don’t get me wrong- it was still bad, but somehow in those few moments with God, everything else seemed trivial compared to His greatness.

Besides, at the end of the day, (perhaps in a few years) my family and I will look back on this day and laugh. A memory like that is the kind that sticks with you, and I think that we could use a few more of those before my brother heads off for college this fall (*sobs*).

Even though it wasn’t a good day, I thank God He gifted it to me. Maybe there’s a reason… looking for the good in the bad? Regardless of the reason, thank you God for giving me strength all day yesterday,  when many have none. God puts things in perspective.

Maybe it wasn’t that terrible of a day after all. Maybe. At least we are now one of the semi-clean garage owners! Yay!

I hope that you take your take your bad days and give them to God. He can take any bad situation and make it good. 🙂 Even when it involves spiders and millions of boxes!

Have a lovely Saturday! God Bless!

d06fc-proxy-url253dhttp25253a25252f25252fwww-tattoogen-com25252ftattoo25252fmardiandemo25252f48-3833333333333325252f00000025252flaura-jpg2526container253dblogger2526gadget253da2526rewrit

(By the way, I’m hoping to *finally* post Part 4 of the Comparison Series posted sometime soon next week… I have to finish writing it first though, so stay tuned!  🙂 )

 

Leave a Reply

