Monday Miracles · Monday Modesty

Raising the Moral Bar

Hello, everyone! Today I am very excited to share with you my very first fashion post!

As a Christian girl, it can seem almost impossible to dress in a way that honors God. Trust me, I know. I can walk into a store excited to get a new summery outfit, and walk out empty-handed when I can’t find a single thing that would require me to lower my standards of dressing.

So today, instead of posting “Monday Miracles”, I thought that I would take a quick break for this week and post “Modesty Monday” instead! (except since I’m a bit late, it will be posted on Wednesday! ☺)Not that I’m at a loss for God’s miracles! I just wanted to focus on a little bit of a different type of miracle, which is you! After all, we are God’s own miracles, so shouldn’t we represent Him in how we dress?

I think so!

Before we get to the fashion part, I want you to consider the following quote from Girl Defined. Girl Defined is an awesome ministry aimed at helping girls with getting back to how God originally designed us to be. I love love love them! (And, if you haven’t seen my review on their newest book, Girl Defined: God’s Radical Design for Beauty, Femininity, and Identity, please check that out here!)

Now, to the quote!

“As Christian girls, it is our responsibility to raise the moral bar, not lower it. It is our duty to lead our culture towards modesty and decency. Not away from it.” 

Girl Defined

Wow. As a Christian girl, have you ever considered how your clothing has effected those around you?

You are the only Bible that some people will ever read. Do you actions and your dress reflect biblical principals? Are you raising or lowering the moral bar? Are you leading our culture towards modesty and decency? Or are you leading it away from it?

When you clothe yourself everyday, think to yourself, “If God saw me wearing this (which He does!), would I change? Would I be comfortable going to church in this outfit?” If you can’t see yourself wearing this with God in sight or in a godly place, you shouldn’t be wearing it!

My personal standards require me to be covered from shoulders to knees.

So, check out the outfits and tell me what you think! I tried to choose cheaper pieces that I could afford to buy, but I think that any girl could pull these looks off! ☺

Outfit #1:

da3cb052de44798398c0e7122d1c19f7
“Relaxed Crew Neck Tee for Women” in White Strip; $7.00; Old Navy
cn11974111
“Pixie Mid-Rise Ankle Pants for Women” in Robbie Red; $32.00; Old Navy
cn11948882
“Pointy-Toe Lace-Up Flats” in Black; $26.00; Old Navy

 

 

 

 

 

 

00199725-01
“Faux Pearl Chain Necklace” in Gold/Cream; $2.90; Forever 21

 

 

 

 

So, for this first outfit you have a cute, light and flowy, black-and-white striped top… and just look at that price! You can pair it with these red pants, like product display did! (Except for the long sleeves, but oh, well!) With this combo you have the classic black and white look with a cute pop of color! The pants offer plenty of coverage, and the shirt has the extra length to cover necessary areas. Definitely a modest choice.

Now for the shoes! I think that these shoes are A.D.O.R.A.B.L.E.! I love how they lace up… it’s something that you normally don’t see! Since they are black, they go well with the top… but on Old Navy I saw that they also come in RED, if you want to take a walk on the wild side and be matchy matchy with the pants! ☺ Personally, I prefer to spread color out, but that’s just me!

Lastly, I chose a simple necklace. My mom and my sister adore big, blingy statement necklaces, but I like simplistic detail.☺ And who couldn’t love that price? Pearls are so cute! My absolute favorite decade is the 1950’s, so the fifties girl in me is saying that pearls are the way to go, but the chain details gives it a more modern appearance.

Outfit #2:

cn10959844
“Chambray Cami Midi Dress for Women” in Mid Tone Chambray; $19.97; Old Navy
294819_32_41
“Women’s Peaks Island Shirt, Short-Sleeve Floral” in Cornflower Blue; $16.99;  L.L Bean
cn11842102
“Classic Ballet Flats for Women” in Light Gold Rush; $19.00; Old Navy
69824_1
“Ribbon Flower with Crystal Beads and Pearls Headband”; $8.50, Claires

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For this outfit, I chose a cute chambray dress, but it’s basically sleeveless! So, as a layering piece I chose a light cotton button up shirt to go over it. I chose a blue shirt to go over this dress, but I think that any color could totally work! The dress goes past the knees so length is not an issue! Cute sparkly shoes, like the ones shown above and a pretty, feminine headband really tie the whole look together! ☺

There you have it! Two adorable summery ways to modestly dress! I know how difficult it can be to find modest and heat friendly outfits, but if you just remember who you are dressing for, it will make it all the more worthwhile. ☺

Have a lovely, lovely week!

d06fc-proxy-url253dhttp25253a25252f25252fwww-tattoogen-com25252ftattoo25252fmardiandemo25252f48-3833333333333325252f00000025252flaura-jpg2526container253dblogger2526gadget253da2526rewrit

“Women should adorn themselves in respectable apparel, with modesty and self-control.”

1 Timothy 2:9

Disclaimer: I am not endorsing any of the stores that I have mentioned… I simply think that they have adorable pieces! ☺
Leave a Reply

