Holidays · Monday Miracles

Savor It

Independence Day parade

Have you ever eaten something so delectable, so delicious that you couldn’t wait to just shove the whole thing in your mouth? Then later you sadly regret this decision as you still want to taste it? I have!

There have been so many times that I have simply forgotten to savor every delicious bite of life that comes my way.

Lately, I’ve been feeling pretty nostalgic. I think back hard trying to uncover every memory that I hadn’t thought of lately, trying to resavor the memory that maybe I didn’t savor enough the first time.

I remember one time in gym class we were required to run around the track at least ten times. I seriously thought that I was going to pass out. I do not look fondly upon that bit of memory. There are other parts however that make me smile. (smile about running, are you crazy, Laura!) I remember how beautiful the mountains looked plastered up against the April sky. I remember talking with other people, getting to know these kids better as we suffered through the running together, and encouraged each other in the process. I remember the feeling of satisfaction and relief when I finally finished.

Now as I look back to four years ago, I just wish that I had savored that seventh grade, middle school moment more than I did.

I remember being a Freshman in high school only two years ago. I couldn’t help but wish to be out of high school, to be done with homework, and to never see those trying teacher’s faces again. Now here I am, a Junior wishing that I had savored every messy moment. I wish that I had savored in the boring class days, the teachers, my classmates, cafeteria food, and even homework and gym class.

There have been multiple times that I have despised all of these things. At the time I just wished that time would fade away. Now I wish that I had savored it more. How could I of just let it go?

I wish that I had savored the beautiful, messy, lovely life that God has given me.

I wish I could go back in time and scoop up every perfect and imperfect moments and give them a hug. These moments made me who am I today and they will continue to influence who I am in the future. But I cannot go back in time. I cannot go back to savor every hug from my elementary teachers. I cannot go back to savor every laugh I had in Middle School. And I cannot go back and reclaim my first two years of high school, no matter how much I would like to.

Instead, from now on I can choose to savor. I choose to savor my past, present, and future memories. I choose to love the messy yet marvelous life that God has given me.

So today, as you go out into the world or are home around the house, savor it. Take in every moment, lousy or laudable, and just eat it up, drink it in, and don’t forget to say ‘thank you’ to the person who gave you life- God.

The miracle that I’ve become more aware of during this past week is life.

Life itself is the grandest miracle that you could ever have. God gave you your life to do lovely things with because He gave you life to live for Him. Soak up the memories He gives you. Soak up His love. But most of all, soak up the fact that He gave you a life of freedom from sin. The freedom that comes through Him will give you the most satisfying life you could ever hope to live.

Happy Independence Day! May you enjoy the day that our forefathers created the great principals that our country still stands on today! Make sure that you savor in every moment today and everyday! Savor the fireworks! Savor the barbecues! Savor your family! Savor the freedom!

God Bless America!

d06fc-proxy-url253dhttp25253a25252f25252fwww-tattoogen-com25252ftattoo25252fmardiandemo25252f48-3833333333333325252f00000025252flaura-jpg2526container253dblogger2526gadget253da2526rewrit

“This is the day the Lord has made! Let us rejoice and be glad in it!”

Psalms 118:24

Photo Source: Click Here
Leave a Reply

