Faith > The World

Being a Set-Apart Christian

colourful-girl-nature-photography-rainbow-umbrella-Favim.com-140201

I was sitting in English class a while back ago, tapping my pencil, tapping my fingers, erasing stray marks on my paper… just trying to make the time go by faster.

The assignment seemed to be nearly impossible. For some reason whenever we are asked to write about ourselves in school, I immediately draw a blank! This was one of those days.

We were asked to make a list of stuff about ourselves. One of the topics was things that we loved.

Well… that’s easy.
                                1. Family

I began to write my second love, but I hesitated. I glanced around the room. My teacher was going to look over our reasons and the things that we wrote. I suddenly felt embarresed. I was going to write, ‘God’. My pencil hovered above the paper, but no marks were left.

I knew that my teacher wasn’t a Christian and for some reason I felt that she would find it offensive. I just couldn’t bring myself to write ‘God’.

A flood of shame washed over me. How could I not write this?

I love God.

For some reason, letting my non-believer teacher know this made me feel as if I were going to offend her.
I grow up in a world where it is considered bad to be a Christian. Christians are considered to be know-it-alls that can’t butt out of social and political topics.  We mindlessly follow some fairy tale, as they claim. The world despises Christians.
Just because the world hates Christians, that doesn’t mean that we abandon our faith for the world’s liking.

Simply because I didn’t want to offend a worldly human, I felt that God shouldn’t be on the list of things that I love.

Imagine if we Christians lived a life of walking on such pins and needles. Imagine watching our every word that comes out of our mouths, just so we don’t offend non-believers. Imagine not proclaiming that you were a Christian, or not letting your actions show that you were one.

Do you already live such a life?

Christians,  we should not cater to the world. We need to cater to our Creator.

God supplies us with everthing good and perfect. Imagine a life without God, one with no forgiveness, no hope, and no compassion. Without God, what do we have to live for? The world?

We need to be Christians set apart from the world, not ones living under its influence.

“You have been set apart as holy from the Lord your God, and He has chosen you from all the nations of the earth to be His own special treasure. ” Deuternomy 14:2

We need to hold tight to our faith. While the world may not approve,  God does. Standing with God should be more important than standing with the world.

In the past,  I made the mistake of conformity with the world.  No doubt I will make mistakes.  As long as I learn from them.

d06fc-proxy-url253dhttp25253a25252f25252fwww-tattoogen-com25252ftattoo25252fmardiandemo25252f48-3833333333333325252f00000025252flaura-jpg2526container253dblogger2526gadget253da2526rewrit

I’d love to chat with you! 

  • How do you set yourself apart from the world?
  • In what ways have you conformed to the world?
  • In your experience,  which was more fulfilling and why?

 

Photo Source: Click Here
One thought on “Being a Set-Apart Christian

Leave a Reply

